Port of South Louisiana Executive Director to Receive WTCNO's Eugene J. Schreiber Award

ajot.com /news/port-of-south-louisiana-executive-director-to-receive-wtcnos-eugene-j.-schr

By AJOT

New Orleans, LA - The World Trade Center of New Orleans today announced this year's recipient of the Eugene J. Schreiber Award as Paul Aucoin, Executive Director of the Port of South Louisiana, Aucoin will be presented the award at the Louisiana International Trade Jubilee taking place on Friday, November 3, 2017 at the New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. The Jubilee is the closing celebration of the inaugural Louisiana International Trade Week, hosted by the World Trade Center of New Orleans.

"Paul's role in shaping the international trade landscape of Louisiana cannot be understated," said Caitlin Cain, Chief Executive Officer of the World Trade Center New Orleans. "He's made increasing trade and investment a priority for the port, and in doing so, positioned Louisiana for long-term economic growth. Paul is a relentless ambassador for the international business community and a true reflection of what this award represents."

Prior to his role as Executive Director of the Port of South Louisiana, Aucoin served as the port's legal counsel. Aucoin has served as director and chairman of various organizations including current appointments to the World Trade Center of New Orleans Board of Directors, the River Region Chamber of Commerce, and the St. James Parish Economic Development Board. In 2016, Aucoin was appointed by Governor John Bel Edwards to the Louisiana Board of International Commerce and recognized as one of 21 Influential Leaders along the Louisiana Industrial Corridor by 10/12 Industry Report. Born and raised in St. John the Baptist Parish, Aucoin has been practicing law since receiving his Juris Doctor from Loyola University Law School in 1970.

"I am very humbled and deeply honored to receive the Eugene J. Schreiber award," said Paul Aucoin, Executive Director of the Port of South Louisiana. "Obviously any success I have enjoyed in promoting international trade for Louisiana is due in large part to the Commissioners and employees of the Port of South Louisiana and Caitlin Cain and her staff, Jessica Steverson and Brandy Dufrene, along with Eddy Hayes and the Board of Directors at the World Trade Center. I am very proud to receive this prestigious award."

The Eugene J. Schreiber Award was established in memory of the late Eugene "Gene" Schreiber, who served the World Trade Center and Louisiana community for over 30 years. The Schreiber Award honors an individual who demonstrates exceptional knowledge and leadership in promoting international trade policy for the benefit of the State of Louisiana. Previous recipients of the Schreiber Award include Senator Mary Landrieu, Congressman Charles Boustany, Jr. MD, Hon. James Coleman, Jr. CBE, and Gary P. LaGrange.